Zhou Dynasty of Ancient Chinese Dynasty | Ancient Chinese Culture

Zhou Dynasty

Lasting from the 11th century BC to 221BC, the Zhou Dynasty existed more than 800 years. It is the longest-ruling dynasty not just throughout Chinese history, but of the whole world. The dynasty includes two periods, namely Western (11th century BC to 771 BC) and Eastern Zhou (770 BC to 221 BC).

Western Zhou was established by King Wu and its capital was set in Haojing, near today’s Xi’an City, Shaanxi Province. About 771 BC, the Zhou leaders were forced to move their capital to Luoyi (present Luoyang in Henan Province).That was the beginning of Eastern Zhou period.

The Eastern Zhou was ruled by Emperor Ping (Zhou Pingwang). After the interior war, it was divided into the Spring and Autumn period, called after a history of that name which documented the Eastern Zhou dynasties, and the Warring States period when the six most powerful kings fought against each other. This period ended when the Qin dynasty reunited China in 221 BC.

Zhou Dynasty is considered as an age of philosophers and thinkers. Confucianism, Taoism, and Legalism developed during this period and till today, they still have great influence on Chinese people.

  1. No comments yet.
(will not be published)