Dragon Kings | Ancient Chinese Culture

Dragon Kings


In the mythology of ancient China, there were four Dragon Kings who were the divine rulers of the four seas, namely, Eastern Sea, Southern Sea, Western Sea and Northern Sea. Their true forms are dragons, but they also could shapeshift into human forms. They lived in their palace which was in the deep of the sea and was guarded by shrimp soldiers and crab generals.


They not only ruled over the sea, but also were in charge of the weather as they could manipulate clouds and rain. They appeared commonly in Chinese literature and the temples dedicated to them also could be found all around China.

The four Dragon Kings are:

Dragon of the East: Ao Guang

Dragon of the South: Ao Qin

Dragon of the West: Ao Run

Dragon of the North: Ao Shun


  1. No comments yet.
(will not be published)